Permission Problem

You don't have permission to do that.

Oasis Network

Hey community!

I just came back to my hotel room after attending the Hedera 18 conference. It was truly exciting! There's a lot about Hedera Hashgraph that just feels different and I think it has a bright future ahead of it.

My name is Juan Villaverde. I'm currently working as a DLT analyst at a small US-based Financial Ratings Agency. This what brought me to the conference.

But it's not why I'm writing this post.

There is another project I've been working on for the past 3 years or so. We call it "Oasis", and no, we don't know if the name will stick.

It's a project that I'm working on with some amazing people, most of them based on Germany. The project itself isn't based on crypto but on agricultural technology instead: The founder of the project, called Alexander Mathews has perfected a sub-surface irrigation system that replaces the traditional irrigation methods used in most agro-businesses. 

The perks: Depending on the crop, you save about 80% to 90% in water usage. And you at least double your yield. So you use less resources, and produce more. On top of that, we don't use any agro-toxics on our production pipepline. No toxic chemicals are thrown on the Earth and we even have ways to put carbon BACK in the soil, taking it off the atmosphere and back into the land, where it can serve as a powerful fertilizer.

So what we're talking about here is that for the first time ever, we'd be able to produce organic commodities on a massive scale, and at a LOWER COST than their monoculture-GMO-based counterparts. 

So that whole dilemma where buying organic means spending more money? We think we can fix that. It's ambitious, but we're pretty confident we can do it!